Container Ship Classification

Container ships can be classified based on their size, as follows:

Depending on the TEU capacity and hull dimensions, container vessels can be divided into the following main categories or classes. However, adjacent groups will overlap.

  • Small Feeder <1,000 TEU
  • Feeder 1,000-2,500 TEU
  • Panamax 2,500-4,500/5,000 TEU
  • Post-Panamax 4,500/5,000-10,000 TEU
  • Suezmax 10,000-12,000 TEU
  • Post-Suezmax >12,000 TEU